top of page
Recent Posts

Rodney Agyare-May: Burncoat Track Team's Diamond in the Rough

Q: So Rodney, you have a reputation of being extremely fast. You recently placed fourth at the New Balance Indoor Nationals.

A: That is correct

Q: That's incredible. Were you proud of your performance there?

A: I was definitely pretty happy with the performance.

Q: Would you say that it was one of your bigger achievements?

A: This is definitely up there with some of my achievements.

Q: Who has supported you the most?

A: I would like to thank God, my mom, my coach, and my brothers for the amazing support they've shown me throughout my high school track career.

Q: Now that you've made it this far, what inspires you to keep training?

A: Whenever I feel like giving up or quitting, I ask myself how many people would love to be in my position and that usually keeps me going.

Q: (Aw.) When did you first decide to start running?

A: [My] 8th grade year, outdoor track, seriously, but I also competed in the Mini Olympics when I was in elementary school.

Q: What made you decide to start?

A: I've always liked racing my friends as a little kid, but I really started because I wanted to keep in shape for other sports. My brother and his friends did it.

Q: Would you say it's just genetics or hard work that pays off?

A: It's definitely a combination of the two.

Q: Did you ever imagine making it this far?

A: I had no idea going into this that I'd make it this far, but I am extremely happy to be here.

Q: What are your goals for the future?

A: At the moment I'm waiting for offers from colleges. Then I'll sit down and review all of them and, depending on how I do in college, I may run professionally.

Q: Who do you consider a role model as an athlete?

A: I consider Rodney Harrison a role model. He was a strong safety for the New England Patriots.

Q: Do you have any advice or words to live by to share with your fellow students?

A: If I had to give some advice it would be to never quit on something you've started.


  • Twitter Basic Square
burncoat got talent
bottom of page