top of page
Recent Posts

Teacher of the Month

This month's honor of "Teacher of the Month" goes to one of Burncoat's most beloved teachers, Mrs. Gordon-Mathieson. We asked her how she felt about the achievement and how it put the rest of her years of teaching in perspective.

"I am very honored you guys choose me as teacher of the month. I take the formation of young people’s lives very seriously and wish they would too.”

When asked what drove her to teaching she stated, "One of my college professors told me to try everything I may have an interest in before I committed to medical school, so I tried teaching. I loved it. I started teaching in 2004 because I wanted to make difference in young people’s lives. I love kids and the unpredictability. No to days are ever the same.”

When questioned what her motivation was to helping students Mrs. Mathieson replied, “I see the potential in them. I see they can do much better than what they choose to do.”

Mrs. Mathieson says these words of wisdom to our senior students: “Be true to yourself. You can only be yourself, and you have to live with the consequences of the choices you make so don't worry about your friends because most of those friends won't be around for the rest of your lives, but your consequences will.”

We are so grateful to name such a great teacher as our teacher of the month.


  • Twitter Basic Square
burncoat got talent
bottom of page